How We See Ourselves…

In the last few blogs that I have posted we have dealt with a few issues that are easily apparent; negativity, balancing our personal lives, and just “becoming” on a new level. Lets address something that has become apparent to me. Looking from the outside at ourselves can be one of the hardest things to do as we tend to overlook the negative aspects. For example we overrate our abilities because it hurts to acknowledge where we fall short. What we have to recognize is that we are only human, to judge ourselves means we are critiquing who we are and it’s difficult.

When we apply for a job. There is usually some type of question whether verbally asked or on some type of form about what our strengths and weaknesses are. Who really wants to answer the weakness portion honestly? Well my friends, it’s time now to achieve great things, by looking inward and answering this question for ourselves. This is primarily the first exercise that I’m looking to try with myself and hopefully you will do the same.

We all have calendars, calendar books, and appointment books and with these we write things like office meetings, sports events, anniversaries, birthdays etc. But for the next week we are going to look at our efficient or non-efficient use of our time. I like this direction because we all will state proudly, that we are magnificent at time management. This may be true in a work context, but what about when we look at our personal lives. I hear consistently “I need to lose weight or I want to be healthier.” Saying this to me, a former Marine, is like saying ‘I’m hungry and I need to eat.” My reply is go to it. Now wait this is where it gets interesting, the answer is usually “Well I don’t have time.” This is a big flag in my book.

Time is all we do have. I will usually respond to the no time answer/excuse with something to the effect of “What’s your favorite t.v. show?” 90% of the time, I get a response. If we gave up our favorite t.v. shows or if your fancy you could record them using some device and made the time when you have to be home to see this amazing entertainment, well you could be at the gym, working on those few pounds you need to lose. I will be the first to state that I could definitely be more attuned to my time management.

Back to business, so for the next week, beginning Monday keep a log of what you do over the course of your next week. Obviously blocks of time will be given to your job, school, children, but what about the off time. I will post the results of this study and then follow up with a resolution and plan of how better to use my time. Now I only use the example of exercising because it comes up quite often at my school that I attend. Lots of my friends ask me how I produce this blog, my work online, or just writing my “books.” I tell them that all I do is sit down and write for a specific amount of time. With writing there are amazing excuses not to write. They are as follows:

Don’t have a computer. Can’t find the time. Don’t know how to start. Can’t concentrate at my desk. Can’t concentrate at the coffee shop. Can’t get in the groove. Don’t want to write something bad. Haven’t got an idea. This list can be endless. So I usually will tell them to shut up and write. It’s not easy for me. Hell, it’s not easy for me to create this blog, but I do it because it makes me feel good and that I’m using my time somewhat wisely instead of playing games on my iPad, fooling around outside, etc… Writers block is real and can only be conquered some of the time. My favorite authors who I won’t list had many different ways of writing. The two that come to mind easily to fight against writers block were; to begin writing about the day, for example: IT was beautiful outside. 67 degrees, the sun was just right. Birds were chirping, bees were buzzing, and then it became quiet. There were moans coming from the back of my townhouse. I ran to the sliding glass door and looked outside and saw ZOMBIES. Number two was to start where you left off the last time you were writing since it’s always difficult to get those processes rolling again. Basically you write half a sentence and then re-read the paragraph before and finish out your thought in that half sentence.

Good luck, happy writing, and get to work on writing out your time logs.

M4M

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

